Author Topic: Knock not rattle  (Read 2061 times)

Ivy

• Grand Gearhead
  • Devon UK
on: August 10, 2022, 10:13:47 am
Hi all.

My new Meteor that has only 70 miles on the clock makes a knocking sound on tickover when fully warmed up.
I will add that I have 40 years experience of riding, repairing and maintaining my bikes and it is not a rattle i.e. valve clearance but a heavier knock, I think I can actually feel a vibration at the same frequency.
The oil level is correct and it is only on tickover, it runs great otherwise.
Any one else experienced this? Is it normal?
I would like to be prepared for the dealers excuses.

Thanks for reading.
Moto Guzzi --Making mechanics of motorcyclists for 100 Years--

SteveThackery

• Inveterate tinkerer
  • Grand Gearhead
  • "If it ain't broke, keep fixing it until it is."
Reply #1 on: August 10, 2022, 12:20:43 pm
Yes!  I've done some research and can tell you exactly what it is.

I was really bothered by it on my bike, to the point of talking it back to the dealer to be checked.  It's a heavy knock that can also be felt through the bars and footpegs.  The dealer said it sounded normal.

Anyway, here is the straight dope.  The balance shaft is driven from the crankshaft by a pair of gears.  Now, the balance shaft is not under any permanent torque, so the gear teeth can rattle against each other as the backlash is taken up one way, then the other.

This happens at low speeds because the crankshaft rotation is not at a constant speed.  It speeds up during the power stroke, slows down gradually during the exhaust an intake strokes, and then slows down fairly suddenly during the compression stroke.