Author Topic: Case gasket  (Read 962 times)

Matt1995

• Scooter
on: April 25, 2022, 05:19:14 pm
I’m back it with my 01 bullet 500. I have to do the center case gasket. I saw some kits online but not sure which one I should be looking at. I found the entire disassembly and reassembly procedure for the motor.
I’m still new to enfield so I don’t exactly know what I have other than I know it’s a 500. The number order the jug is 1B5-10502A.
Also any tips or things I should look out for when disassembling and reassembling?
Thanks

AzCal Retred

• Chennai Wrencher
  • Grand Gearhead
  • a journey of a thousand li starts under one's feet
Reply #1 on: April 25, 2022, 05:58:51 pm
Why are you replacing just the center case gasket? Did the crank frag? There's lots of bits that should be renewed if you separate the case halves.

Oil weepage is pretty normal for older vertically split case designs. Unless it's a 1/2 cup a night or so, that's a LOT of effort to go to. Oil is still pretty cheap, a pie pan with kitty litter saves a lot of money up front. If my cases have to come apart, you can bet there will be a $2000 Hitchcock's stroker crank/steel rod going back in... ;D
A trifecta of Pre-Unit Bullets: a Red Deluxe 500, a Green Standard 500, and a Black ES 350.

Matt1995

• Scooter
Reply #2 on: April 25, 2022, 07:50:46 pm
I want to do the center gasket. I’m not just going to replace that gasket though

Carl Fenn

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: April 26, 2022, 09:36:27 pm
Well those old vertical split cases did have their problems for sure.

AzCal Retred

• Chennai Wrencher
  • Grand Gearhead
  • a journey of a thousand li starts under one's feet
Reply #4 on: April 27, 2022, 12:51:23 am