Author Topic: Tire & Chain adjustment. Using Impact Wrench on bullet!  (Read 5112 times)

USBullet500

• Scooter
I noticed some wobble in my rear tire while riding my bullet. I saw that the notches on the left and right of the rear tire adjuster cam are not aligned. So i decided to adjust it. I am a novice and this is my first time trying to remove a motorcycle tire. I couldn't get it off using the wrench in the tool kit. So i used my Bauer 20v impact wrench to loosen the castle nut and spindle nut.

Once adjusted i tightened them back up. I tightened it real good for the fear of the tire coming off loose while riding..:) However i feel i might have tightened it too much as i see some wear on the threads. I rode the bike and everything is good. I appreciate if anyone can suggest the following.

a) Is it okay to use the impact wrench on the motorcycles? Is there a manufactured recommended torque on this motorcycle?

b) I am not sure how anyone could use wrench in the tool kit to remove the tire without some effort. Is there a better wrench/ torque wrench you use that is easy enough to carry with the bike in case you have to remove the tire. 30# & 24# sockets

b) I checked the chain play and its not too tight or too loose. Chain play is about 3 fingers from the center of the swing arm. However when i rotate the tire, i hear a slight rubbing/friction when the chain runs over the front sprocket, but no such friction noise can be heard from the rear sprocket end. Have you experienced the same thing? Is this usual? Or can anything be done on the rear sprocket side to adjust this?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2020, 02:30:07 pm by USBullet500 »

Haggis

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: June 28, 2020, 02:30:58 pm