Author Topic: Hello  (Read 2148 times)

Pond Snail

• Scooter
on: July 18, 2020, 08:03:38 pm
Hello Fellow forum members,

Thought I should introduce myself, my name is John and I am from Somerset, owner of a 2007 Electra X, currently doing all those little jobs that seem to come with a new, well new to me, motorcycle...

I am new to the Royal Enfield fold, previous motorcycles being MZ's, a couple of BMW's, a glorious Norton Commando and a couple of not so glorious mopeds, in the days they had pedals!  ;).

I brought my Electra X a couple of years ago, I did some initial work, then had to leave it for a while, now slowly working to get it back on the road.

Work carried out thus far; front brake system rebuilt with a stainless steal braided hose, some so and so electrical gremlins found and put right, mainly down to the not so great quality of the wiring!, rear brake shoes renewed, a pair of natty stainless steal rear wheel adjusting cams with a quarter inch square hole to use a socket bar `for adjustment, front forks tightened up in casquette to stop fluid from leaking out, new seat fitted which required 2 new brackets to be made and fitted, a few more things that escape me for now!.....

Hope I have posted this in the correct section.

Look forward to sharing in the community, hopefully I can make a contribution and not just ask questions!...

Best regards,
John  :)
2007 Electra X

Adrian II

• Grand Gearhead
  • Sharing my ignorance with anyone who needs it
Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 11:44:25 pm
Hello and welcome from near the New Forest in the UK, good to see another Electra-X, I'm on my second, not including an Electra-X Classic hybrid engine special in a Redditch frame. Speaking of Redditch that style of set suits it well.

As yours is a later model it will hopefully be spared the woes suffered by some of the 2005 models...

A.
Grumpy Brit still seeking 500 AVL Bullet perfection! Will let you know if I get anywhere near...

tooseevee

• Grand Gearhead