Author Topic: Getting it off the enricher circuit.  (Read 569 times)

Zmanx

• Neophyte
on: March 17, 2023, 08:31:51 pm
Hello to all bullet masochists... ;D
Admittedly i am new to this modern vintage but I do have some experience with vintage bikes from sixties as i owned one in the past.
To the problem...i have purchased US version 07 500 with 260 miles on the clock. Since purchase i have worked through several electrical issues, managed to start it in the old carburator configuration and take it for a ride around the block. After that i rectified exhaust header and muffler issue and used Hitchcock's jet table to select and replace jests in oem mikarb VM 28. In the process I managed to jam sprag clutch - it appears so since the gear is turning the starter continuously now- i plan to rectify that - i just removed the starter for now. Here is the issue; the bike runs fine on enricher circuit, if i attempt to take it off of it it dies. Main jet 120, idle 27.5, needle P0 . I kept dropping the needle believing that perhaps it is to rich and it is flooding...now i have no idea where to go from here ..

stinkwheel

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: March 17, 2023, 08:53:58 pm
I'd wonder if it's lean, not necessaritly through incorrect jetting but through not enough fuel. Check the slow running circuit for blockages (shouldn't be because it's a new jet but worth blowing through the drillings in the carb). Float height too low? Insufficient fuel flow? Some of the taps barely let through a dribble of fuel. Maybe worth checking the pilot screw setting?

Mr_84

• Grease Monkey
Reply #2 on: March 17, 2023, 09:29:47 pm
G’day Zmanx

Quite often when these carbs sit for a while just changing to new jets isn’t quite enough and as stinkwheel says it’s most likely the passageway behind the pilot jet blocked if it wont idle with out choke . A thorough cleaning of the passageway is in order and hopefully some cleaning  fluid can be seen to get through.