Author Topic: DIY Lithium Battery  (Read 990 times)

NVDucati

• Grand Gearhead
  • USA 2020 INT
on: June 08, 2022, 06:55:02 pm
I'm in the early stages of building my own lithium battery. By that I mean the learning and gathering stage.
I've been using them for a few years, adding them to my bikes one at a time as the old ones failed. The new ones are different from my first ones chiefly by the addition of the built-in BMS (Battery Management System). I feel comfortable stepping away from my lead/acid youth;).
The price savings is not the driving factor, but I don't hate that. I'm mostly interested in the fact that they can be built in shapes that are not rectangular or square. They also can be mounted in any orientation because there is no up or down to them. This opens up a lot of possibilities on a motorcycle where "packaging" is very tight and weight matters. Battery capacity on touring / camping bikes is always desirable and having a source which is separate from the starting system, ... priceless.

Think of a battery that is one inch thick X 3 inches wide and as long as you need it to be, say to live under the rear fender from tail light to swingarm. Or making one to line the edges of your top box. You get the picture. I have paddled though this forum and another forum looking for this discussion or folks who are currently rolling their own. It isn't really "rocket surgery" and more of an assembly process.
Building custom batteries is growing with the drone crowd and E-bike folks for reasons not the same as mine. Here is a taste of some of that:
DIY Lithium Battery Parts 1-5 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLPqn8bOJKP_nYD-BAKxJHOYovjickM3wD

Love to hear from anyone doing this ...
Member: AMA
Current Rides: '14 DL1000 ADV, '06 SV650N, '93 900CBRR, '74 Ducati 750GT, '14 Honda CB1000-R

axman88

• Grand Gearhead
  • Vintage Motorcycle Fan
Reply #1 on: June 09, 2022, 12:37:18 am