Author Topic: New owner of a Royal Enfield  (Read 808 times)

CustomFtw

• Scooter
on: February 02, 2022, 11:25:29 pm
hello there, im Marco from Portugal and im a newbie on Royal Enfields .....

just bought a bike in a lot,  dont have any papers for it but i think it would make a hell of a chopper....

how can i identify the year of this motorcycle?
what model is it?
someone told me it was a 500cc....is it?
what year....?

whats the best way of simplified wiring, just kick it and goooooo......headlight on the front , light on the back, and kick start...do i need a battery?

engine number is G2/72548, and has 0928 on the gearbox.

got to find out how to put photos here....

thanks in advance

Captain Bob

• Grease Monkey
Reply #1 on: February 03, 2022, 03:07:15 am
Marco, hard to say what it is without more info.  I can say this however....  I am a serious fan of old school choppers and have a real nice one that was just featured in the November 2021 issue of Kult Rider Magazine in Germany.  I am in the US.  It is a 71 Triumph Bonneville.  I added a pic of it taken from the magazine.

Now...., that being said, Of course, you can do what you want but....  please don't chop the Enfield.  Bring it back to as close to original as you can.  These are beautiful bikes and, in my opinion, may not be the best platform for a chopper.  Just my opinion.  I am sure whatever you do will be fine.

Adrian II

• Grand Gearhead
  • Sharing my ignorance with anyone who needs it
Reply #2 on: February 03, 2022, 02:23:31 pm
Now...., that being said, Of course, you can do what you want but....  please don't chop the Enfield.  Bring it back to as close to original as you can.  These are beautiful bikes and, in my opinion, may not be the best platform for a chopper.  Just my opinion.  I am sure whatever you do will be fine.