Author Topic: Fitting a carburetor onto a 2013 C5 - my review  (Read 6164 times)

sagefilio

• Scooter
on: April 09, 2021, 01:25:06 am
Hello!

It's been a long time since I've posted here, but since I've definitely relied on this forum in the past I figured I'd contribute to it. I also noticed someone asked about carbs on these bikes and that thread devolved a bit, so I figured I'd give this step by step documentation a go.

Some background: I purchased this bike new in 2013. Followed the break in, then took in on a 3000 mile trip (skyline drive/blue ridge parkway, if you have a chance do it). Bike was stock and ran very rich during that trip. I added a K&N filter, D&D exhaust and a PC mapped for those things. Bike still ran incredibly rich, to the point of fouling plugs. I started messing with the tune, and adding an autotuner/wide band o2 sensor to see what was going on. I've been messing with tuning this bike now for 3 years and not getting anywhere. I've read blog posts, bought a book on it even and couldn't get very far without a dynometer. The closest dynotuner that will take non harley's is 100 miles away. So for the cost of a dynotune 100 miles away (+renting a method of getting the bike there) I just purchased the Mikuni Carb kit from Hitchcocks. Something I can much more easily tune to this motorcycle and have experience doing.

Photo of the kit is attached here. It does seem a few things have changed from the photo on Hitchcock's website. The petcock is noticeably different, with a 2 piece nozzle and copper/rubber crush washer included. I've attached a photo of it mounted to the tank. As usual, the machined aluminum parts hitchcocks produces for these (the gas tank cap and manifold) look and feel superb.

The only other thing I'll say so far is the air filter is almost too small for the carb. It took about 20 minutes of cajoling to get it onto the carb. Basically loosening the rubber, and shaving a small bit off of it with the sharp ends of the inlet.