Author Topic: Continental.GT 535 converting to Mikuni Carburetor  (Read 20642 times)

Bess_GT

• Scooter
  • As above, so below...As within, so without...
on: November 09, 2019, 03:48:55 pm
Hi all, This is my first post here. But I've been a frequent visitor here for past few months and I've learned many things from this forum. I'm a newbie in mechanics.

I'm trying to convert the EFI(failed one now, the bike was sitting for many years.) to carburetor and after a hard search out, I got this Mikuni carb from a guy. But I don't know how the carburetor fits in the slot. Please see the attached pics. I'm trying to use the stock Flange and the carburetor is getting stuck between the bars holding the cylinder head assy.

I've seen Otto_Ing(Paul)'s video of the same, but not sure how he did it. Also there are few replies in some posts here about this, but couldn't find anything about this issue.
Earlier I made a quote for conversion kit to Hitchcock, but the Pound to INR conversion makes it much above my budget.

Thanks.
P.S. I've been on this for many months, trying to open the failed fuel pump motor, made it rotate but the pressure in the motor varied after sealing. Trying a second hand fuel pump motor of RE500, which failed after few kms.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2019, 03:51:20 pm by Bess_GT »

ace.cafe

• Grand Gearhead
  • World leaders in performance/racing Bullets
Reply #1 on: November 09, 2019, 04:06:50 pm
You will need to do some fabrication/modification to make things fit.

There is no fuel pump in the carb system. You need a petcock adapter plate to replace the fuel pump at the tank, and use gravity feed for fuel.
Home of the Fireball 535 !

Bess_GT

• Scooter
Reply #2 on: November 09, 2019, 04:41:19 pm
Hi ace.cafe,
But the bars that support the cylinder head is blocking the top of carburetor(as marked in pic) . May i know how i could modify that?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2019, 05:20:01 pm by Bess_GT »

gizzo

• Grand Gearhead
  • purple people