Author Topic: Jack stands... for car  (Read 4102 times)

Intybe

• Grand Gearhead
on: September 07, 2021, 06:41:41 am
First time I've ventured beyond the 650 thread, so please be kind; even though this not about REs let alone bikes, I hoping the experienced brains trust that works on all things mechanical will kindly advise.

I'm an amateur (read: for love, wannabe) diy mechanic, which was a big reason for buying the Inty. Anyway, since I found it straight forward to remove, inspect, regrease my Inty's brake pads and my partner's garage quoted her $600 to replace her car's (Kia Cerato), I offered.  Front and rear pads cost $180 so $420 for labour... a lot of brownie points for me! 💑

I thought it might be easier if I used jack stands. Question is will these cheapies suffice? The description doesn't say for cars and shows a buggy in the pics.

https://www.amazon.com.au/Scale-Stands-Axial-Wraith-Crawlers/dp/B07X82NDFL/ref=sr_1_6?crid=37J7V0FKIYQ6K&dchild=1&keywords=car+jack+stands&qid=1630991535&sprefix=car+jack%2Caps%2C368&sr=8-6

Nitrowing

• Grease Monkey
Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 07:39:29 am
They're for remote control cars - RC  ;D
No wonder we no longer have a motor industry

Mr_84

• Grease Monkey
Reply #2 on: September 07, 2021, 08:18:45 am
Wow that sale for those stands could be easily misread as they have 6 ton on them , but yes they are 1/10th scale RC cars stands , so no good for real "man" work. Not sure where you are but in NZ and Aussie we have Supercheap auto , axel stands and items like that are cheap as chips. And what's your Yamaha dirt bike in your avatar picture?
« Last Edit: September 07, 2021, 08:20:53 am by Mr_84 »

Karl Childers

• Ghost in the machine.
  • Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: September 07, 2021, 12:17:10 pm