Author Topic: First service - dealer cost?  (Read 14076 times)

Richard230

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #60 on: May 10, 2020, 10:07:00 pm
What works well to clean wheels is a product like Honda Spray Cleaner and Polish. (There are similar products, with a similar name, sold in most motorcycle shops.) I have been using that stuff for many years and it does a great job cleaning oil and grease off of wheels and leaving behind a protective film.  And if you really want to cut through gorp, try painter's wipes or Gojo Scrubbing Wipes. Those products will really clean things up, although they will also take off any wax or polish, too.
2018 16.6 kWh Zero S, 2009 BMW F650GS, 2020 KTM Duke 390, 2002 Yamaha FZ1

twocoolgliders

• Cookie
  • Grand Gearhead
Reply #61 on: May 11, 2020, 12:27:44 am
The satisfaction of doing your own work!  And the convenience...and it's done correctly! and you saved money!..

You probably could have found cheaper oil..but Bel-Ray is a good "name brand"....

You may wish to reconsider the valve check.....the idea is that in the first couple hundred miles is when the valves "set it"...so they can be out of spec.   The more miles...then they sort of stabilize...so you probably don't have to check them as often as the book recommends...

The problem with air cooled engines is that too tight exhaust valves can cause big trouble.

The RE650 is probably the easiest valves to check....(although there are 8 of 'em)
The hardest thing is to keep the gasket lined up for reassembly.  You can check the valves...maybe they are all in spec...then you just close it up....but to adjust...it is simple...

Yeah lots of work to get the tank off etc...

I did mine at 400 miles...just for piece of mind...had to adjust a couple of them...