Author Topic: Could Use Some Rear Suspension Advice. Thanks.  (Read 949 times)

JohnLA

• Bulleteer
on: March 25, 2024, 12:59:47 am
Hi everybody-

I could use some help/advice on which rear suspension might be best for me and my GT 650. I am a complete novice on suspension. I have put the YSS front fork upgrade kit on my bike and I was very happy with the improvement it provided. I have read to not expect such big improvement when upgrading the rear suspension on our bikes...

I am looking at the following 3 rear shocks:

1. YSS https://www.caferacerwebshop.com/en/rz362-360trl-54-88-shocks-continental-gt-650-19.html?gad_source=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIhf2ik5eOhQMVdjoGAB01pw6GEAQYASABEgIYwPD_BwE#product-content

2. Ohlins https://em-moto.com/en/re912.html

3. Hyperpro https://www.xparts.net/en/hyperpro-rear-twin-shocks-with-rebound-and-spring-preload-for-royal-enfield-continental-gt-650-2019-2020

I have a buddy who can get me the Hyperpro's at a very good discount. About the same price as the YSS shocks. He says they are excellent shocks, but I can't find many reviews on them. Would be very thankful if somebody has some experience/knowledge with this brand and could share it with me.

I weigh 90 kilos/200 pounds. My riding is on sometimes pretty rough roads that one finds on a Greek island, as well as smooth tarmac...I'm a "spirited" rider, but I seem to be riding slower the older I get! :) Looking for a combination of improvement in handling, comfort and safety.

I am leaning towards the YSS and/or the Hyperpro's...the Ohlins are pricey, but I'm curious if somebody here might say they are worth the extra money...

Thanks in advance for any advice.

« Last Edit: March 25, 2024, 01:12:35 am by JohnLA »

Deathwish

• Deathwish
  • Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: March 25, 2024, 01:09:09 am