Author Topic: Kickstarting advice  (Read 28505 times)

Kiwichick

• Scooter
on: November 03, 2007, 08:02:11 pm
My earlierst introduction to REs: when I was a Triumph owner, I remember seeing a cartoon on my parts-guy's workshop wall.

It showed a group of guys, on chairs in a row  in a Doctor's waiting room.  Each of them had their right leg pointing off in some odd direction from the knee down.

Each was wearing a "Royal Enflield Owners Club" teeshirt.

Maybe it is a classic old joke.  Anyway, this cartoon may have subconciously scarred me against kickstarting!

I'd like to know your thoughts on kickstart technique, and in particular, what causes the leaver to kick back (and potentially break your leg, according to the cartoon!) - ie what do I avoid?

Even though I have an Electra (I mentioned in another post, I'm a newbie - I brought her home yesterday!) I'd like to mostly kickstart her.  After all, that looks damned fine!

Thanks
Biddy

RagMan

• Bulleteer, Uralist &
  • Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: November 03, 2007, 09:07:08 pm
Don't do anything I did.. I broke my ankle and foot kickstating the Enfield, about 9 weeks ago - I am nearly better, but not yet.
aka Indiana Bulleteer.
''99 Classic Bullet. '05 Ural Tourist sidecar rig, converted to 2wd. '05 Harley Davidson Sportster.
Jefferson County, WA

Tiny Tim

• Bulleteer
Reply #2 on: November 03, 2007, 10:05:09 pm
Generally speaking, there are three reasons that an Enfield will kick back at you:

1. you didn't get it past the compression stroke
2. You kicked it with the throttle open
3. The timing is out

If you're sure that the timing's OK, the following method works so well for me, I assure you that I can start mine by hand when she is up in the air in the workshop.

1. with the ignition off, and the petrol on, operate the decompressor and kick over three times
2. Release the decompressor and kick gently until the compression stroke is felt