Author Topic: Rumbler 500 tank leak  (Read 1177 times)

AmBraCol

• Grease Monkey
  • Rebelling Against The Rebels
on: September 21, 2021, 03:46:02 pm
Can't believe I've been running the Rumbler 500 for almost six years now.  It's carried me around quite a bit, although mostly right here in Coffee Country with a couple longer rides to the plains and also to other Andean areas here between the Canal and the Equator.  The past couple years have been mostly sedentary with a few rides close to home. The national lockdown they instituted had us running the car instead of the bike as we were using it to deliver needed food boxes to folks who were in dire straits.   Anyway, a few weeks ago my wife started complaining about a strong gasoline smell in the garage.  As we must go through the garage to get into the rest of the house, this odor also apparently was affecting the first floor of our home as well.  I say apparently as I can't smell a skunk in a barrel anymore, probably due to eye drops I've had to apply daily for the past couple decades.

So I made time to pull the tank.  I'm not sure how it compares to the Classic and the Bullet so will detail how it goes on the Rumbler. 

• Use a hose to siphon as much gasoline as possible out of the tank.
    Remove the left hand side battery cover.
    Pull the front seat release cable and remove the saddle.
    Remove two bolts and washers that hold the rear of the tank down.
    Remove hose from tank to fuel injector.
    Lift rear of tank to gain access to the cables that connect the fuel gauge sending unit and the fuel pump and unhook them.
    Remove tank from bike, paying attention to where the breather hoses go