Author Topic: Pre-War Curious: Newbie Questions  (Read 1119 times)

nonfiction

• Bulleteer
  • New Bullet Owner/Longtime Bike Guy
on: April 22, 2021, 09:08:28 pm
I have a good buddy, a lifelong bike guy who's only ever owned Japanese motorcycles (plenty of them!). He has decided he would someday like to have a pre-war British motorbike, of the sort regular people would ride, not your T.E. Lawrences.

He can't spend crazy money (probably gonna top out around $5-8k), and really only knows the profile he wants: Slopy tank, sprung saddle, sweepy bars, big head lamp, hardtail frame, long fenders. Small-middle displacement 250-350ish just fine, though a 500cc wouldn't get snubbed.

Are there any likely Royal Enfield models present in the US in numbers enough that they'd be likely targets, and if so, what should he be looking for?

axman88

• Grand Gearhead
  • Vintage Motorcycle Fan
Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 10:48:16 pm
I'm no expert, but my impression is that REs are scarce in the US prior to the years they were rebadged and sold as Indians in the mid 50s.  Even then, they were much less plentiful than BSAs and Triumphs.

I have been thinking along lines similar to your friend, the old machines are very attractive.  When I have more leisure time in retirement, I may try to collect a few.  But I was thinking it might be more economical to travel abroad on a hunting expedition where the machines are more plentiful, and ship them back.  It's not that expensive:  https://www.autoshippers.co.uk/motorbike-shipping.htm

If one can manage to fill a container, that would be even more economical.  Harleys and Chris Craft eastbound, Sunbeams and Citroens west.

nonfiction

• Bulleteer
Reply #2 on: April 23, 2021, 01:13:17 am
AxMan I've been thinking along similar lines. This buddy and I have talked for years about a flatbed tour through the west and midwest, gathering interesting old stuff to send back home.