Author Topic: Replacement Gas Tank On The Way  (Read 1906 times)

hadujorganic

• Grease Monkey
  • Bethesda, MD, USA
on: November 23, 2019, 05:01:15 pm
My Ravishing Red INT 650 came out of the shipping crate with a small chip in the gas tank paint, and the dealer has RE sending a replacement tank. I'm thinking of using Citri-Strip or Aircraft Paint Remover on the original tank to get down to bare metal and have some fun with a new refinished look.

I'm wondering if I can sand the metal to a mirror smooth finish and then clear coat it. Sort of like a poor man's Glitter & Dust chrome look.  I have no experience doing such a project so now I get a free pass to experiment. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions?
Bethesda, MD  "Home Of Its Residents"

2019 Royal Enfield Interceptor 650
2021 SYM Fiddle III 200i
2019 Trek Checkpoint
1998 Plymouth Grand Voyager

mwmosser

• Illegitimi non carborundum
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Austin, TX, USA
Reply #1 on: November 23, 2019, 06:15:55 pm
My Mark Three had a chip in the tank also, likely from a test rider wearing keys on the belt. The dealer knocked $250 off and I was fine with it. They get chipped; I'm not going to sweat it. But great you got a free tank out of it.
2019 Interceptor 650 Mark Three

olhogrider

• Classic 350 Desert Sand
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Blue Ridge Mountains of NC
Reply #2 on: November 23, 2019, 08:05:31 pm
My Ravishing Red INT 650 came out of the shipping crate with a small chip in the gas tank paint, and the dealer has RE sending a replacement tank. I'm thinking of using Citri-Strip or Aircraft Paint Remover on the original tank to get down to bare metal and have some fun with a new refinished look.

I'm wondering if I can sand the metal to a mirror smooth finish and then clear coat it. Sort of like a poor man's Glitter & Dust chrome look.  I have no experience doing such a project so now I get a free pass to experiment. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions?