Author Topic: 2009 RE Exact Model and Engine Oil Type?  (Read 1325 times)

theNEALINATOR

• Neophyte
on: August 10, 2022, 08:07:11 am
https://imgur.com/a/2dVCFiT

Got this 2009 Royal Enfield for a good price recently with less than 100 miles on it. I'm very new to motorcycles and have a few questions I can't seem to find answers to:

What is the exact model? Placard says 2009 Royal Enfield Motorcycle Bullet 500cc (Bullet Electra - X / Bullet Electra - Classic) (manufactured in India). When I look that up, it is super confusing locking down a model for parts etc. Motor type?... (all very new to me) I am told it is a one year production model...maybe that explains what seems to be a mix of parts from different generations of the bullet model? Is there a way to determine exact model from the VIN?

What type of engine oil does it take? The few manuals I have looked at for bullets say everything from 15W40, 15W50, to 20W50. I also ordered multiple different engine oil filters online because I'm not sure which one it takes until I actually do the oil change.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks! It is so much fun to ride!

richard211

• Grease Monkey
Reply #1 on: August 10, 2022, 03:12:49 pm
 The Engine and gearbox is from the Electra X. The engine is called an AVL engine made between 2002 - 2009. The engine grade is 15W40 for the crankcase (2.25 litres) and also for the clutch primary case (420 ml) and the gearbox takes 450 ml of EP90 gear oil. These are the factory recommend oil grades and quantities.

I belive that your motorcycle was meant to be an Electra (indian market) with the iron barrel engine but probably during 2009 when the AVL engines were being phased out to make way for the newer UCE engines, Royal Enfield may had used surplus AVL engines with the 5 speed gearbox and installed it into the Electra model and called it the Electra Classic.