Author Topic: chain oiler  (Read 8839 times)

Husqy

• Scooter
on: April 25, 2020, 10:22:35 pm
Just wondering if anyone has fitted a chain oiler  ???
all my bikes for the last 40 years have been shaft drive  Bm, and Honda 's ------Frank-----

gizzo

• Grand Gearhead
  • purple people
Reply #1 on: April 26, 2020, 01:03:51 am
Funny you mention it, Frank. I just fitted a Loobman chain oiler to my wife's Monster yesterday. I've been using one for a couple of years on my classic Ducati and my CGT is getting one shortly.

They're easy to fit, cost effective and work excellently.  Would recommend. 
simon from south Australia
Continental GT
Pantah
DR250
DRZ400SM
C90
GSX250E

twocoolgliders

• Cookie
  • Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: April 26, 2020, 03:07:08 am
WARNING....Sorry...but brutal honesty coming now....

Sounds like a messy, fussy, costly, unnecessary pain in the Arse to me.

Where does all that oil end up?  and who cleans the chain when it gets dirty?  Don't you need to buy special oil?  Can we think up yet another piece of crap to mount on a bike?  Don't we have o-ring chains...where they are perma-lubed on the inside any way....it's more important to keep an o-ring chain clean than to lube it...but a quick spray, lubes the outer links and prevents rust etc.

Cleaning and lubing a chain gives a person time to "become one" with their bike...relax in the garage....just you and your bike....check things over...clean up stuff...maybe a bit of wax and shine....check the air pressure....tighten a nut or two...check the oil.....sit back and admire the beauty of the machine....

If you put an oiler on your bike...your bike will hate you!  >:(   It will think you are a lazy, uncaring bast'rd

Is is so hard as to buy a $2.99 can of spray lube and Psssst...?

Have a nice day!  8)

Cookie