Author Topic: Hitchock's carb conversion  (Read 13422 times)

Tommy_C

• Scooter
on: August 30, 2021, 02:34:03 am
Hello All... I just wanted to post about my experience converting a 2016 Classic 500 to a carb set-up. I bought the kit from Hitchcock's and received the Mikuni round-slide VM32 plus parts. I am not a mechanic, but I had no problem following the instructions and installing the carb. The bike started right away. I also installed Hitchock's stainless 'vintage' style exhaust and silencer

I have never used a power commander, powertronics or booster plug, so I can't compare the results to them. But this bike went from being good to great. I expected maybe 5% to 10% improvement in perfomance and it feels more like 20%. It pulls like crazy in the lower gears and the top speed is higher. This is with the carb 'out of the box' with no tuning.

Just want to put it out there in case anyone is considering this conversion.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2021, 02:36:24 am by Tommy_C »

viczena

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: August 30, 2021, 03:03:18 am
Your Bike lost half of what its worth and is not street legal anymore.

And feelings are no substitute for a test bench. If you deliver numbers.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2021, 03:05:21 am by viczena »
www.enfieldtech.de
Harley CVO EGlide, Boss Hoss 502, BMW 1200 RT, Harley Panhead , Harley Davidson &Marlboro Man Bike BD2, Royal Enfield Trials, KTM EXC 500. And some more.

AzCal Retred

• Chennai Wrencher
  • Grand Gearhead
  • a journey of a thousand li starts under one's feet
Reply #2 on: August 30, 2021, 05:36:18 am
Tommy_C - thanks for posting your success. Many here share your feeling & enthusiasm about carburetors.