Author Topic: Need help with Enfield Indian ID  (Read 3600 times)

BCondon1929

• Scooter
on: February 09, 2021, 04:42:29 am
Hi...I'm brand new to the board and know NOTHING about Enfield Indians but I ran across one and this looks like the place tp learn. Any help in identifying such as year, type, size. Remember I am a complete novice so any help is appreciated. There is a title with it that states it's a 1959. Where would the vin numbers be? I found some numbers on the engine. Thanks

AzCal Retred

• Chennai Wrencher
  • Grand Gearhead
  • a journey of a thousand li starts under one's feet
Reply #1 on: February 09, 2021, 08:54:13 am
Welcome to the "Hoard of the Archaic"!

Here's your primary resource:
https://accessories.hitchcocksmotorcycles.com/

Hitchcocks has a huge parts inventory, specialty tools, manuals, and their terrific online parts book.

David Blasco's Royal Enfields page is also a great information resource:
https://www.royalenfields.com/2021/02/the-royal-enfield-flying-fleas-that.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+royalenfields/qqMm+(Royal+Enfield+Motorcycles)

Graham Scarth of the Royal Enfields Owners Club UK can ID these from the frame & engine numbers. Pictures will always help Graham. See attached JPEG.

E-mail Graham & peruse the Hitchcocks website. You can e-mail them as well for particulars on parts fitment, etc.

Post more pictures of the old girl - there are many interested here.

Good Hunting  - ACR -
A trifecta of Pre-Unit Bullets: a Red Deluxe 500, a Green Standard 500, and a Black ES 350.

Adrian II

• Grand Gearhead
  • Sharing my ignorance with anyone who needs it
Reply #2 on: February 09, 2021, 02:13:34 pm
That is the RE version of the Indian Chief, which was based on the UK model 700cc Super Meteor, but very much dressed up for the American export market.

Another member of this forum completed an epic restoration of one of these fairly recently, which should inspire you here: