Author Topic: That Woodsman again.  (Read 1487 times)

harleykenn

• Scooter
on: August 22, 2023, 03:22:08 am
   My Woodsman starts and ticks over as it should,  as soon as i rev it it starts backfiring and flames from the silencer,
   carb has been off and jets cleaned, diaphragm checked, new coil lead and plug, there is no power to the ammeter, although i believe this was working when i got it eighteen months ago,  while it's ticking over i have adjusted the air screw all the way in and all the way out, makes no difference, when you rev it it still backfires with flames, plug is always sooty.
Ken.

axman88

• Grand Gearhead
  • Vintage Motorcycle Fan
Reply #1 on: August 22, 2023, 06:30:38 pm
I'm no expert, but it sounds like it's running rich enough to be misfiring and putting enough unburnt fuel into the exhaust to result in the afterfiring, and flames.

Or, it could be misfiring due to an intermittent ignition fault, or maybe a leaky valve, but perhaps these faults wouldn't result in a sooty plug.  Again, no expert, I'm mainly here to make suggestions that can be corrected by the wiser sages, and get the ball rolling.

I think I'd go looking for restrictions in the air intake, like a clogged air filter.  If I didn't find that, I'd explore my fuel mixture.  Could it be that the float is set too high, or stuck open?

What carburetor is installed, and how is it jetted?

Adrian II

• Grand Gearhead
  • Sharing my ignorance with anyone who needs it
Reply #2 on: August 22, 2023, 08:34:00 pm
When you say backfiring do you mean spitting back through the carburettor or the explosions in the exhaust? If the latter, is that WHILE revving on on over-run?