Author Topic: Won't run in wet  (Read 3341 times)

Willbrunei

• Reborn biker
  • Bulleteer
  • 2022 Halcyon Black Classic reborn
on: October 23, 2021, 01:17:08 am
Hi can anyone guide me through trouble shooting the fact that my 2007 bullet won't run in the rain or after being washed? I am a complete novice on electrics, so please bear with me.

The bike will cut out even in very fine rain -  it misfires, slows and stops and then refuses to start. Same after a bath.

When left for 10 -15 mins in the hot Bruneian sun, all is forgiven and we are back on song.
So I am guessing water is shorting something

Now, as far as trouble shooting:..

Battery has 12 volts across the terminals and starts the bike fine (kicker) even after a week or so on the drive

when wet the ignition switch works OK and pilot lights, tail light, indicators all work. The needle on the amp meter deflects as it should and the kill switch does its job on all of the above.

So battery and points OK?

I took out the plug and wd40'd inside the boot - no good.

When I then kick it over a lot, to try and get it started, I can kick and kick to no avail. When I do this, the coil gets hot. This made me wonder if there is water in the coil -  it is a oem lucas coil with push fit ht lead. I pulled out the lead and reseated the little metal clip thingy on the end. It seems a very Heath Robinson way of making a connection and a pain to get back in to the coil.

Anyway, I did get it back in and she started!! But it took so long to refit, I don't know if I found the problem, or something else dried out in that time.

I did notice a split in the coil hg lead rubber boot and the low tension connections are naked ie no boots

Any suggestions gratefully received as it does rain a lot here and though I try and avoid it, the odd shower comes, literally, out of the blue at times

Thanks in advance.
Will
Used to have: