Author Topic: Test rode a G5 today  (Read 10115 times)

Fox

• Bulleteer
on: February 20, 2011, 02:34:38 am
Hi All,

Seeing as this is my first thread, I figure I might as well start off with an introduction.

I'm 23, and I've been riding for about 8 months. Since starting, I've clocked about 8,000 miles, mostly from commuting 40 miles a day into and out of Philadelphia. I've been doing this on a gnarly 2000 KLR650 that would have just turned over 20k this week had it not been for the speedo hub drive disintegrating last week.

Today, I took a blustery (crazy wind gusts) 40-mile jaunt over the river to Lenihan Auto in Marlton, NJ, where I test-rode a G5 deluxe. I figured I'd share my impressions of the Enfields I looked at today. Some of these will resonate in particular with dualsport riders, if there are any here that haven't met an RE face-to-face yet.

The thing that first struck me was how incredibly small these bikes are. You don't really appreciate it until you're sitting on one, but stepping off of a KLR, which has a 21" front wheel and takes a 38" inseam to flat-foot, the difference is huge. At the same time the weight is still noticeable, and just sits low. I guess the only comparison I can make here is that the Kawasaki is the SUV to the RE's small sports car.

The videos on youtube don't do the engine sound justice, not by miles. The bike I tested had the stock straight silencer, but both standing next to it and sitting atop it, it sounded very deep and throaty, and not anemic and puttery as it sounded in some of the clips I've seen.