Author Topic: kickstart  (Read 5869 times)

randombikerdude

• USA Rider
  • Scooter
on: January 10, 2011, 12:40:33 am
hey,

i have an 09 electra, usually ES but when it's cold it doesn't always work.. I'm a novice and need help/steps to kickstart the bike. a couple things I've noticed when trying, the kickstart will become difficult to move, almost impossible.. is this because compression is building up in the engine? Also, the decompress level on the handle doesnt want to move.. anyway, I've seen a 3 year old kickstart a royal, it can't be that difficult?

The Garbone

• Shade Tree
  • Grand Gearhead
  • User Complaints: 22
Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 12:50:49 am
You might just need to lube the cable on your decomp and see if it loosens up.  On an AVL it lifts the exhaust valve pushrod so there is not that much movement anyway.

What your feeling is probably compression. On a bike with good compression you can almost stand on the kicker at that point.  Moving the piston just a touch after you hit this point by using the decomp and kick her from there.. Should start easy.
Gary
57' RE Crusader 250
67' Ford Mustang
74' Catalina 27 "Knot a Clew"
95 RE Ace Clubman 535
01 HD 1200 Custom
07 RE 5spd HaCK

* all actions described in this post are fictional *

UncleErnie

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: January 10, 2011, 04:06:00 am
The iron jug and AVL decomps work differently- the AVL is basically useless.

What oi are you using?  In cold weather I wouldn't recommend anything thicker than 15-40, with 10-40 being even better.

Here's what i do;
Before kicking, pull the clutch lever and kick through onvce or twice.  this frees up the clutch.
Gas, choke, and key  -ON-
Get the lever to where it's really hard to move.  That's TDC.
With the clutch pulled, I get the lever to about 9 or 10 o'clock- and bounce on the lever until I get it to move just a hair.  That puts the piston a teeny bit past TDC.