Author Topic: Hey, who's good with computers ?  (Read 3880 times)

gashousegorilla

• Grand Gearhead
on: December 11, 2010, 12:01:29 am
 Need some help. My DVD drive crapped out. I got a new one and hooked it up, no problem, it works fine. It has 2 SATA cables hooked up to it. I picked up two drives while i was at it, figured I'd add one for burning purposes. Question is,how to hook up the second one?  Any one have any good links?
An thaibhsí atá rattling ag an doras agus tá sé an diabhal sa chathaoir.

Ice

• Hypercafienated
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Ride In Paradise Cabo, Don and Ernie
Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 12:07:12 am
When it comes to computers I'm a fantastic plumber !  ;D
No matter where you go, there, you are.

gashousegorilla

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 12:10:12 am
Yea too funny Ice :D, Do you run these drives with a primary chain ???

Ice

• Hypercafienated
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Ride In Paradise Cabo, Don and Ernie
Reply #3 on: December 11, 2010, 12:12:46 am
Yup. And they install very nicely, I use a screw hammer to tighten them down. ;D
No matter where you go, there, you are.

gashousegorilla

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #4 on: December 11, 2010, 12:19:03 am
Yup. And they install very nicely, I use a screw hammer to tighten them down. ;D
I can't seem to find torque specs or were the auto tensioner is, in these here computer documents. ::)

1 Thump

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #5 on: December 11, 2010, 12:19:32 am
Need some help. My DVD drive crapped out. I got a new one and hooked it up, no problem, it works fine. It has 2 SATA cables hooked up to it. I picked up two drives while i was at it, figured I'd add one for burning purposes. Question is,how to hook up the second one?  Any one have any good links?

Use the USB port with a USB cable. You wanna make sure that you have USB 2.0 . Most new computers have that as a default. Make sure to lubricate the USB tip with WD40 or an oil of your choice.

gashousegorilla

• Grand Gearhead