Author Topic: question to British Bullet riders  (Read 2703 times)

birdmove

• Grand Gearhead
on: January 17, 2008, 07:09:28 am
    I started riding back about 1963-1964 when British built bikes were at the head of the motorcycle industry.I owned about a 1964 BSA 500 twin as a high school student and rode that bike to school and as my only transportation.I remember the beautiful BSAs, Triumphs, Nortons and Royal Enfields.In the US it was mostly Triumphs and BSAs. Then between about that time and 1979-1980 it was all over.My biggest regret was not buying a brand new 1979 Triumph Bonneville.
    Anyway, we all know what came next.The Japanese big four. Our own Harley-Davidson lasted through all of this and still survives today.
    It has to be a little bit strange(and sad) for riders from England to buy a Royal Enfield Bullet made in another country when their own Royal Enfield company dissapeared long ago.Nothing against the Indian Bullets-if it wasn't for them we wouldn't have an authentic 1950s or 1960s new motorcycle available to all of us.
    And what about the Bloor Triumphs? As an American I was very happy to hear about the new Triumph. I was amazed it took them so long to build the new Bonneville, and in fact, I rode my motorcycle at that time to a dealer and test rode the new Bonneville as soon as it came to the US. I also wonder how British riders feel about the new Triumph in general.
    For now, I am happy to have a new RE Bullet and will certainly keep it for a long time to come.It won't be my only motorcycle though.

jon in Puyallup, Wa. USA
Jon in Keaau, Hawaii

Blackthou

• Scooter
Reply #1 on: January 17, 2008, 01:33:14 pm
 I had a BSA A65's (650), RE 750 and  a few smaller British bikes (175,250 etc) back in the late 60's and early 70's. I think it is great that RE is still around and amazing that the story has gone full circle- exporting to India, India surving and exporting back to the UK. Long may their success continue.