Author Topic: Probably Shouldn't Ask This, But  (Read 9266 times)

fredgold52

• Grease Monkey
  • Macomb, IL Flatlands Rule
on: January 11, 2008, 07:25:22 pm
Can the cat converter section be removed from the stock header pipe?  I kind of like the stock muffler, but I want to get rid of the converter and the PAV stuff.  Has anybody done this removal successfully?

Thanks,
Fred
2006 '65' and a 200cc Stella, Indian all the way

BanditRE

• Bulleteer
  • Use Small Words - I'm an Engineer
Reply #1 on: January 11, 2008, 07:39:38 pm
Hey Fred,

Its on my 'to-do' list for this month or next month. I got a cheap exhaust off an older bike, I think a 99, which had no cat converter and no little nipple thing on it for the PAV stuff. That way I can remove all the EPA garbage on it and it'll run infinitely better!

Back to your question, I think you can remove the convertor. There's another topic on here somewhere that deals with it. Some weld removal and the whole thing slides out of the exhaust pipe. Be aware that you may need to change the jets in your carb, as the increased exhaust flow may cause you to run a little leaner than stock.

You should always ask! No 'buts' about it.

Paul

Paul
2007 Military 500ES. 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

fredgold52

• Grease Monkey
Reply #2 on: January 11, 2008, 09:50:33 pm
My plan (for when it gets warmer) is to pull out the converter and check the stock muffler to see if it's straight through.  If it isn't, it probably will be.  Then on to the PAV stuff.  Blanking off the nipple on the pipe and the vacuum fitting on the carb manifold, venting the engine breather to atmosphere, and so on.  I want the bike to run the way it was originally intended.

BanditRE

• Bulleteer
Reply #3 on: January 11, 2008, 09:52:46 pm
Amen brother. Enfields were not intended for cat convertors and pulsed air systems.

Leonard

• Grand Gearhead
  • I loved this bike!!
Reply #4 on: January 11, 2008, 10:51:35 pm