Author Topic: Anyone know anything about the JE piston (part number Z91433)  (Read 6396 times)

stickyfox

• Scooter
Thanks very much to both of you for some quite valuable information. If you're running with those numbers and happy with the way it's going that's good enough for me. My last bike was a Kawasaki (come to think of it the last two were), so engine noise does not bother me in the least. If anything I'm a little too desensitized to weird slapping noises.

I will definitely hold off on installing this piston until I make sure the clearance is what it should be.

Ace: your experience matches 100% with what I expected looking at the tables. My background is electrical, not mechanical, so I can't claim to be an expert, but it seems obvious that the piston, being trapped inside the motor and exposed only to combustion gases, will warm up quicker than the cylinder, which is wrapped in cooling fins and floating through the atmosphere at highway speeds (until it becomes welded to the piston anyway). And published figures are nearly useless unless you know the exact composition of the metal, but I think in this instance they are strong enough to arouse suspicion.

ace.cafe

• Grand Gearhead
  • World leaders in performance/racing Bullets
Good luck with it!

The noises that will be heard the most will be the valves. They rattle because they run on solid tappets with hollow pushrods, and the valve lash clearance grows as it warms up.
They are supposed to make noise, so don't worry about it. Just make sure that they are adjusted properly when cold, and they will be fine.
Home of the Fireball 535 !

stickyfox

• Scooter
Okay Ace, I've got one more question.