Author Topic: 1960 chief basket case  (Read 3436 times)

thedudeness

• Neophyte
on: March 17, 2010, 04:35:49 pm
My dad and I have been looking for an old bike to restore for some time now.  The initial budget was low so we have been limited to what we can get.  My neighbor had a bike I had been eying.  Once I saw they were moving I decided to ask if he wanted to sell it.  Long story short it's a 60 chief that we picket up for $500.  It's very very rough and will most likely take us a few years to bring back from the dead.  This is a project to bring back a piece of history not to make a profit.

Here's a few pics of what we have to start with.

I'm sure I'll be asking plenty of questions.  I have some motorcycle experience but not much and this is my first British bike.

ERC

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 11:02:07 pm
Nice, you'll have a lot of fun messing with it. Good luck.   ERC
2-57 Apaches, 2-57 Trailblazers, 60 Chief, 65 Interceptor, 2004 Bullet, 612 Bullet chopped.

thedudeness

• Neophyte
Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 02:47:10 pm
My dad and I started to make a list of everything we will need to restore the bike last night.  It looks like all that's good on it for restoration purposes is the motor (which will need a rebuild), frame, rear wheel, gas tank, and handlebars.  Everything else will need to be replaced.   :-\
Now we are making a price sheet to see how much it will cost us to fix it up which leads me to my question for today.
What was the enfield version of the chief in 60?  What parts are a direct swap?  Also are there modern parts from enfield that will work on this bike?

ERC

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 10:11:06 pm
I sent you some pictures of what one looks like to your email address.  ERC
2-57 Apaches, 2-57 Trailblazers, 60 Chief, 65 Interceptor, 2004 Bullet, 612 Bullet chopped.

rotorwrench

• Bulleteer
Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 05:45:57 pm