Author Topic: Survey - How many seconds from 0 - 50 mph ? Iron vs AVL vs EFI !  (Read 8746 times)

PhilJ

• Grand Gearhead
Sing, you've got me going. Just like a kid again, now I'm into dragging my Enfield.
I went up one on my main jet cause after yesterday it looked a little whitish. But the results are better. I wouldn't have thought it because it sure felt better running lean, however, here is the new readings:
0 -50 mph 7.8 sec
0 -60 mph 12.5

Or maybe I'm just getting into the swing of dragging.  8)

singhg5

• Grand Gearhead
Sing, you've got me going. Just like a kid again, now I'm into dragging my Enfield.

I went up one on my main jet cause after yesterday it looked a little whitish. But the results are better. I wouldn't have thought it because it sure felt better running lean, however, here is the new readings:
0 -50 mph 7.8 sec
0 -60 mph 12.5

That is impressive.  I will check my G5 jetting !!    :( Yikes - its EFI.
Think I need a new ECU - Electron Creating Unit  ???

1970's Jawa /  Yezdi
2006 Honda Nighthawk
2009 Royal Enfield Black G5

clubman

• Grease Monkey
My speedometer reads the same as my brother's HD Electra Glide which has an electronic speedometer. I guess it could be off too. :D

I too find that when I'm following a row of cars in a 40 limit my speedo reads 40, ditto 50 in a 50 limit. Which only proves my speedo is no more inaccurate than anyone else's but my instinct is it's fairly accurate.

As for acceleration I have no figures but it is clear from owners club rideouts that the EFI picks up a fair bit faster.

2bikebill

• Grand Gearhead
  • ~ it's about the ride ~
I'm pretty sure my speedo is accurate too, for the same reasons as Clubman above, and from tailing a friend's new VW Golf at sixty for a couple of miles.
Don't know the acceleration times, got no way to tell, but plenty of very satisfying torque.