Author Topic: Winterization  (Read 6166 times)

ZoomZoom

• Scooter
on: November 09, 2007, 12:04:40 pm
I'm curious wht rituals everyone performs to winterize their bikes... ???

BanditRE

• Bulleteer
  • Use Small Words - I'm an Engineer
Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 01:08:56 pm
Hey Zoom,
I guess I learned my winterizing techniques when I owned a 65 Cadillac that slept for the cold Michigan months. Its not much different from what I do for the bikes now the Caddy is gone. I do whatever servicing is needed except the oil change, wash it, lube everything thats needs lubing, suit up and take it out for a nice ride to get it good and hot. Then return home, change the oil and filter, and then go for a short ride, fill up with gas stabilizer and a full tank of gas, and return home.

Make sure the cylinders at TDC, give everything the once over and finally remove the battery, and over inflate the tires a few pounds. When its cooled down, I plug the exhaust, cover it with a soft cover and then I put 'em in of those zip up storage bags with a dessicant cylinder. Come spring, they're as shiney as were when you put them away, and start right up. I usually shove a old piece of carpet under the front tire to stop the chances of getting any flat spots. More of a problem for cars than bikes.

Man, I never realized what a hassle that was, until I wrote it all down! Obviously the Enfield takes a bit more prepping than my other less maintenance intensive machine does, but the whole ordeal takes a few hours at most. Then its goodbye until spring. The one year I didn't do all that, I had a hell of time starting the bike come spring.

If you don't know what the bags are that I mentioned, you can see them here:
www.carbag.com
2007 Military 500ES. 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

exiledcarper

• Bulleteer
Reply #2 on: November 09, 2007, 04:25:13 pm
My winterization always consisted of thermal underwear, several wooly jumpers and a bloody good pair of gloves!!! ;D

RagMan