Author Topic: 57 and 58 trailblazer  (Read 8162 times)

jaminjim

• Scooter
  • build it ride it
on: December 09, 2009, 11:23:37 pm
I have 2  Indians one is a 57 I think its a trailblazer it looks to be complete but has put a rod through the case .I think I can save it if I can get parts.the other is I think a 58 and is not complete but engine,tranny and primary seem to be in good shape.I could use it in the 57 but I really want to build a custom bobber out of it.So if anyone knows of parts for the 57 or maybe a custom frame for the 58 let me know thanks.  jaminjim.I am new to this computer stuff but im learning also the 57 has HDT on the left front case and the 58 has HDS in the same location is it a 58? thanks. jaminjim
« Last Edit: December 09, 2009, 11:46:52 pm by jaminjim »
jaminjim

chiller184

• Scooter
Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 11:24:08 am
Hi jaminjim,

I can not help you with parts, sorry.  I can tell you that HDS and HDT are prefixes to the gear box number.  HDS gearboxes were used in some 57 Trailblazers, 57 Apaches and Super Meteors.  I am not sure about HDT, I don't have any information on a HDT gearbox, HDT correct?

Cheers Charles

ERC

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 10:47:10 pm
Lets see if I can get this right.55-57 used a pushrod type clutch. The 58 and up used a lever type clutch. You would have to use the correct tranny, primary and clutch together to bolt to whatever motor you use. The motors will bolt into any of the frames as far as I know. HDS tranny was used on 1957 Super Meteor, Trailblazer and Apache. The HDT was used on a 1957 500 twin. Thats the extent of my knowledge on them.   ERC
2-57 Apaches, 2-57 Trailblazers, 60 Chief, 65 Interceptor, 2004 Bullet, 612 Bullet chopped.

rotorwrench

• Bulleteer
Reply #3 on: December 11, 2009, 06:44:48 pm