Author Topic: smokin new member  (Read 1692 times)

gunbunny

• gunbunny
  • Scooter
on: July 07, 2009, 05:23:18 am
Hi everyone I'm new here but have been reading all the great advice for a while. I have some problems & hope someone out there could give some help.                                                                                                                                      I'm new to this wrenching game,thought the enfield would break me in.Well first off my sprag has fragged,is this a doable repair for the novice?                                                                                                                                  secondly & more worrying to me is a problem with smoking.A couple of minutes after I  ???kick Start her clouds of white smoke billow out the tail pipe this tapers off after a few minutes to a little smoke.I always leave her at TDC.The cylinder was rehoned after a piston collapse a couple of thousand miles ago,and the head reworked after a piston guide dropped any ideas? ???
2005 RE BULLET DELUXE                                                                                          2008 RE ELECTRA & COSY ROCKET

Ice

• Hypercafienated
  • Grand Gearhead
  • Ride In Paradise Cabo, Don and Ernie
Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 06:06:13 am
Welcome aboard gunbunny,
Welcome to the fun.
I'm glad your taking time to read and search the the threads.

The fragged sprag may be doable depending on your mechanical inclination.Its amazing how many people today are afraid to even think about trying. Bonus points to you Sir.
  A buddy with some type of wrenching experience or a mechanical wizard friend would be a nice safety net for you if you jump into it feet first. (hint; get the factory and snidal manuals)  ;)

About he smoking thing. Have you double checked the oil level and breather system yet?
How was the motor run after the re hone ? Was the break in procedure followed ?

Keep us posted.