Author Topic: Not quite right  (Read 1872 times)

pknopp

• Bulleteer
on: June 27, 2009, 09:33:19 pm
 I can tinker but I'm still not a certified mechanic.  ;D

This time last month the bike was running great. All of a sudden it isn't. I've only messed with the points and timing once just after I bought the bike but I've really not had a reason to check.

As close as I can determine I'm .015 @ 1/32 of TDC. Pretty darn close if not. I have all the needed stuff (oxygen/gas/spark) I even bought a new plug. Sometimes it starts easily. sometimes it wan't to pop on me. Sometimes it seems to be running O.K., sometimes it sputters.

My first inclination would be my coil (never has been replaced) (2000). But would that cause the backfire pop when I kick it?

I checked the tappets and they are good. I have it idling really well right now. It just isn't right.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2009, 10:13:26 pm by pknopp »
2000 Dlx

pknopp

• Bulleteer
Reply #1 on: June 27, 2009, 10:15:11 pm
 Just to note. I advanced it just bit. Pop. I retarded it just a bit. Pop.

Back to where it was. pop

So I am getting spark.
2000 Dlx

Vince

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: June 27, 2009, 10:37:46 pm
      Did you check/set the gap? The gap determines dwell (the amount of time the points are open). Set the gap to EXACTLY .014". Then set the timing (when the points start to open) to specification. If you are precise at setting the points you can re-set them when necessary and the timing will always be OK. With new points you will have to do both operations again.
     You could have other issues, but this would be the place to start since you have already touched there.

pknopp

• Bulleteer
Reply #3 on: June 27, 2009, 11:12:32 pm
Exactly never actually ever seemed exact to me. It's a tight fitting .015. The only place it will start is timed right exactly where it was. it will idle but when I go to take off. sputter, pop.
2000 Dlx

Vince

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #4 on: June 28, 2009, 12:00:19 am