Author Topic: Fan - is this possible?  (Read 2915 times)

NJ Riff Raff

• Scooter
on: May 14, 2009, 02:19:44 pm
I'm a little concerned about sitting in traffic on hot summer days. I live in NJ and ride through the tunnel and sometimes it can be jammed as well as the sometimes turning down a series of block streets once in the city. I had an idea to hook up a fan just to get some air flow in these situations and operated it from the the disconnected running lights switch. Is this possible and if so how?
2008 Royal Enfield Military Iron Barrel

Mitch

• Scooter
Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 02:51:16 pm
Here's my thought...

Although I am very new to this... just one year, I would be concerned of adding more accessories that are drawing electrical power as the engine is not charging the battery at idle.  When I am stopped in the summer waiting for a train (ie. long stop) I just shut the bike off.

That's my 2 cents... Mitch

geoffbaker

Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 03:03:24 pm
People have added oil coolers to their system, search the threads.

I added a cyl. temp meter so I could monitor the head temp here in Tucson where it gets a lot hotter!

Leonard

• Grand Gearhead
  • I loved this bike!!
Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 03:07:50 pm
I'm a little concerned about sitting in traffic on hot summer days.

My thought is that it gets hellishly hot in India and the traffic couldn't be any worse than NJ.  So I'm thinking don't worry about it.
2009 Triumph Bonneville T100
2004 Royal Enfield Sixty-5 (RIP)
2001 Kawasaki W650 (going, going...gone)
http://www.romeoriders.com

ace.cafe

• Grand Gearhead
  • World leaders in performance/racing Bullets
Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 03:09:28 pm
It's possible.

The key to it is to place the fan so it does not impede the normal airflow over the fins, during normal running. Once you start riding, the air speed will quickly overtake the ability of the fan to move air, and the fan becomes an obstruction to airflow.