Author Topic: simple wiring Q for classic tailight  (Read 2844 times)

bulletsixty5

• Scooter
on: November 19, 2008, 01:15:34 am
 ??? so, yeah, total newb question....

i hae the british classic taillight from classic motor works. so, see pic.after removal of the original, im a bit confused on how to rewire.

the new taillight has 2 wires; red and black.

from the fender, i have 4 wires; gray, green, and two black: one with a round connector, the other with a larger female crimp adapter.

so....what goes to what? i found that both gray and red are hot. if i hook up red from the the taillight to the gray from the fender, and black from the taillight to either black wire from the fender, i get a light. however, there is no bright light on brake press. i tried a bunch of combos, but the same issue.

can someone give me the correct wiring combo? the taillight didnt come with any instructions, and i suck at elecrical stuff.

thanks!
Deano
2004 Bullet 500 Sixty-5
2006 MazdaSpeed6 (turbo AWD 6sp)
2004 TN'G Baja 150

mrunderhill1975a

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 01:43:18 am
On my bike the green is the hot wire from the brake switch,
The gray is the hot for the taillight
The black wires are the ground from both the trafficators (turn signals) and tail lights.

So, If I had your taillight I would attach the red from the taillight to the green on the bike, then the black from the taillight to the grey from the bike, then attach the black wires from the bike to metal case of the taillight assembly.

bulletsixty5

• Scooter
Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 03:11:39 am
correct you are sir, thank you! although i didnt need to ground one of the black wires, im guessing for the turn signals.