Author Topic: High RPM/ Won't throttle down  (Read 5704 times)

swakefield

• Scooter
on: September 03, 2007, 03:10:38 pm
I have the stock carb on my 2000 Classic, and it wants to throttle down very slowly.  Even after I manually move the grip.  The cable is lubricated and I've tried re-routing it every whichway.  I've cleaned the slide and the guts of the carburetor.  Any ideas?  Zip ties too tight?  Pinched by the tank?  If someone can tell me how they route their cable, that might be helpful. 

I bought the bike used, so it has been fiddled with, and I'm also a newbie to the Enfield and motorcycle world.

Thanks.
2000 Bullet Classic
Royal Enfield Association Member

gapl53

Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 03:18:17 pm
I would start by taking off the tank and have a look. The tank tunnel is tight fit with the wiring and all.

little_a_o

• 8 mph slower than indicated
  • Scooter
  • '06 Military (Missed)
Reply #2 on: September 03, 2007, 03:33:37 pm
warning this message is coming from a newbie:

I had a similar problem and I had one problem mask the other and back again.  Right to the point:  I would go right to the idle screw and turn it out.  Then adjust the cable.  When that fails I would come to the online community and get some real advice  :-X
« Last Edit: September 03, 2007, 03:36:25 pm by little_a_o »

Leonard

• Grand Gearhead
  • I loved this bike!!
Reply #3 on: September 03, 2007, 10:20:16 pm
I have the stock carb on my 2000 Classic, and it wants to throttle down very slowly.  Even after I manually move the grip.  The cable is lubricated and I've tried re-routing it every whichway.  I've cleaned the slide and the guts of the carburetor.  Any ideas?  Zip ties too tight?  Pinched by the tank?  If someone can tell me how they route their cable, that might be helpful. 

I bought the bike used, so it has been fiddled with, and I'm also a newbie to the Enfield and motorcycle world.

Thanks.