Author Topic: Bringing Military up to speed  (Read 4346 times)

Ardennes

• Neophyte
on: September 22, 2007, 06:10:52 am
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here and forgive me if my questions sound stupid.  I've always been a fan of the classic WWII vintage look and just discovered the Royal Enfield Bullet Military and fell in love with it visually. I live in Phoenix and was able to find the one dealership that carries Enfields and, as I expected after checking out the specs online, was slightly put off after discussing it with the staff.

I understand that the bike is not fit for freeway travel. I was mildly interested in whether or not the bike would make it on day trips to the Tucson area or Payson, and was told that more than likely the engine would seize half-way there.  It just wasn't built for that kind of sustained speed.

Here's where my stupid newbie questions come in, and any help would be greatly appreciated!  Is it possible, feasible or even advisable to somehow upgrade the engine or other components of the bike without altering the design too drastically, that would allow for extended freeway driving or even touring? The dealer told me about one man who upgraded his for freeway driving but that he still felt that the frame just couldn't handle what would be asked of it.  What do you all think?

I still love this look and would seriously consider purchasing it just for tooling around town and having fun. But being able to take it out further and having more fun on the open road would certainly be a very attractive option.  Again, sorry if the question sounds lame. Don't know much about motorbikes but always willing to learn!

RagMan

• Bulleteer, Uralist &
  • Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 06:25:35 am
I would suggest that you read a lot of the posts already on this forum - your questions are the most commonly asked here, and there is a wealth of information available for you to browse.