Author Topic: Another AVL wakeup  (Read 11536 times)

chuntera

• Scooter
on: January 16, 2019, 04:26:16 am
Hi folks,
I am new to his forum and a new RE owner in USA northeast. The sum of my RE experience has been a few laps around the block while visiting in India.
I picked up a 2008 AVL last year. It had been stored outdoors and suffered from corrosion. Also the starter clutch had gone (surprise).
I've started down the list of tasks to bring it back online. It will have to pass safety inspection at my local DMV so fiddly bits like turn signals must function.
I picked up a copy of Pete Snidal's book and a factory service manual.

This unit originally came with front drum brake which was converted single disc with parts from a newer Bullet. The control lever and master cylinder appears to be typical chinese scooter variety. The fender/mudguard do not bolt to the new fork lowers. To resolve I ordered parts from Hitchcocks (not sure if that will be an option after Mar 29). They have a watson-squire fender bracket which should attach the original fender to the new fork lowers (after drilling a few new holes in the fender).

I derusted the gas tank and pulled apart the fuel petcock/tap (BSP threads) for cleanup & replace the sealing washers.
The exhaust cleaned up nicely and I'm halfway through the fenders. The rear fender fasteners were stripped & will be replaced with socket caps.

The turn signals are pretty crusty so I am replacing with a new set. The rear brake bulb is a common ground type lacking continuity to the frame, likely due to corrosion or a broken ground wire. Based on the rust patterns the brake light assembly collected rainwater (ie. not watertight).

I still need to clean out the ucal CV carburetor and add a filter to the fuel line.
Based on Pete Snidal's book, I should add a inline fuse the battery cable leading to the starter motor and also run a wire for the master cylinder brakelight switch.