Author Topic: 1995 bullet forks and head gasket  (Read 1550 times)

Seipgam

• BTSCA
  • Bulleteer
on: October 12, 2018, 11:52:51 am
Hi Guys, I'm new to Elfields.
1995 Bullet requires head gasket replacement, looks like I should be able to handle that but do I put anything on the new gasket or go bare?

Front fork seal replacement - Looking at Snidals manual it seems a bit different to what it looks like on Hitchcock's parts guide for a 95.
Snidals shows what I presume is an older setup with serviced bushes and a single thin looking seal, but it looks like the 95 has a double seal arrangement and no separate bushes (??).
Is the servicing the same procedure?  Or can I drop the lower legs off without removing the complete fork from the bike? (Surely it wouldn't be that easy).
Been looking for a you tube video or something for this but can't find anything.  Does anyone know of one?

Cheers, Geoff.

Update- Just found Hitckock's fork seal replacement guide (excellent), but could do with the head gasket advice - Cheers.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2018, 12:38:08 pm by Seipgam »
1954 Francis Barnett, Kestrel 66 122cc
1995 Royal Enfield Bullet 500
1988 Jawa 638, 350cc

mrunderhill1975a

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: October 12, 2018, 07:09:33 pm
My head gasket on my 1999 went on without any adhesive goop and worked just fine.  However, I think in your case it will depend on how flat the mating surfaces are.  Has the head ever been overheated ? Has there been any warping? If the surfaces are not flat you may want to get some grinding paste between the head and the cylinder and grind off any high spots.  I seem to remember ACE had the procedure for this listed in one of his posts here years ago.  ACE, can you chime in here with advice?

You may want to look at this post:

https://forum.classicmotorworks.com/index.php/topic,4053.msg46666.html#msg46666

Here are two pages from an article on lapping the head:
http://royal-enfield.net/articles/creasey_article_4_p1.pdf