Author Topic: Worm Nut / Quill bolt issue  (Read 7532 times)

sherman_desouza

• Scooter
on: November 14, 2017, 02:47:05 am
Hi,
I am still a newb at this stuff. this is my first oil change on the bullet!

1. I removed the quill bolt to do an oil change and the neoprene seal came off with it. I asked the guy who rebuilt the motor if it shouldn't have been bonded to the work and he mentioned it was a press fit seal and not a bonded type seal. Is that true? should I buy a new worm with a bonded seal and replace it?

2. do you change the washers each time you do an oil change? and are you supposed to use fibre or copper on these drain plugs?

3. my oil filter cap doesnt have an O ring but it has a fibre washer instead. Should there be an O-Ring there? and do you also have to change all the fibre washers and felt washers when you change the filter?

thank you in advance!

ace.cafe

• Grand Gearhead
  • World leaders in performance/racing Bullets
Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 12:30:19 pm
The seal should be bonded into the worm nut. Just order a new one or two. They are cheap.

Regarding the washers, you can use copper or fiber, but pay attention to the thickness of the drain plug washers. The drain plugs can sometimes be screwed in far enough to block an oil passage, so watch out for that.
Home of the Fireball 535 !

sherman_desouza

• Scooter
Reply #2 on: November 14, 2017, 03:43:08 pm
Thank you for your response Ace!
just wondering if you happen to know a supplier that stocks these? the ones on ebay from india dont really show a bonded worm.. most of them use a removable seal...
same goes for the washers.. do I just buy any from a autoparts store while keeping in mind the sizes?

ace.cafe

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: November 14, 2017, 03:52:39 pm
Cycles of Silver Spring,  or RE of Ft Worth should have them.

sherman_desouza

• Scooter
Reply #4 on: November 14, 2017, 04:19:55 pm
thank you!

RE350

• Scooter
Reply #5 on: November 15, 2017, 05:10:11 am