Author Topic: Bluetooth ODB like interface to access the ECU ?  (Read 6795 times)

Balaji

• technophile and a wannabe petrolhead
  • Scooter
on: October 15, 2017, 05:17:08 pm
I am a newbie here , got the 2016 Classic 500 (Indian) Squadron Blue.Does the stock ECU provide a port to access it's runtime data ? So that I could connect a Bluetooth dongle on the port to view data like RPM , AFR engine temps etc  on my Android or PC..
The thump keeps me alive

Rattlebattle

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: October 15, 2017, 06:55:26 pm
The RE does not have an OBDII port like Triumphs etc that you can use either to connect via cable to a laptop or to a phone or tablet via a Bluetooth dongle. The only way of changing the map is by a piggyback device such as a Power Commander or Dobeck. Dealers use something called DOL to read faults and diagnose problems and there is an earth lead attached to the ECU that can be used to read faults via short and long flashes of the MIL. Sadly you can’t simply download a new map and install it on the ECU. I wish you could....
Sic se res habet: fractum est...

Carlsberg Wordsworth

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: October 15, 2017, 08:03:19 pm
Are not the New Euro 4 models for all new motorcycles supposed to have this though?

If so, surely the new 2017 Enfields have the ability?

Rattlebattle

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 03:30:14 pm
AFAIK Euro IV requires bikes to have ABS brakes and to meet tougher emission standards; I’ve seen nothing that mentions a standardised port such as OBD II, which has been mandatory on cars since the mid noughties. I don’t know what, if anything RE has done about the fuelling to meet the higher standards, but a port in itself won’t affect this. There is still no requirement to measure exhaust gasses anyway. Eurocrats eh? Do they actually know what they are doing? (Rhetorical question). Anyway, the OP asked about a 2016 bike, so my answer remains the same.

Rattlebattle

• Grand Gearhead