Author Topic: Yup, another newbie here  (Read 6414 times)

Cyclepath

• age is just a number
  • Scooter
  • SW Washington state
on: August 18, 2007, 05:49:14 pm
hi all, well i don't have a RE yet but sure am interested in one. i rode nothing but british bikes back in "the day" hey... wait a minute, this is the day ::)  anyway i spent many years as a triumph, bsa mechanic and am again wanting something to tinker on.  my v-strom and my wing are way to reliable.  ;D  as a newbie  i have some questions that i can't seem to find the answers to while i was lurking.  so here goes......
#1  i have seen reference to a bullet 65.  what is the bullet 65?  what does 65 refer to?
#2 i have sent for all the info on the various bikes from RE but have not received it yet.
in looking at the pics there seems to be a difference in the cylinder heads between the classic and the electra. the lean burn seems to look like a taller head. so did this require a different frame?
#3 if the lean burn uses a different frame is one better then the other or handle differently ?
#4 the electra has gas shocks. what about the forks. are they different in any way?
#5 will the saddle bag mounts for the classic, like on the military model work on the electra.
#6 will the crash bars on the military model work on the electra?
#7 what year did the electra come out.
as you can prolly see i am trying to decide on a classic or the electra.
i like the looks of the classic better then the electra but i like the idea of the lean burn eng. and the cd ignition along with the better suspension in the rear and the disc brake up front but that disc does look out of place on a retro style bike.
well, that's enough of a long winded post for my first one.
hope you all can answer my questions.
thanks in advance,   cyclepath :)
2004 v-strom dl100
1993 goldwing aspy
1980 goldwing, nekid
1994 virago 535
1994 yamaha tw200
2003 yamaha tw200
1973 bultaco 250 alpina
1968 suzuki ts 90
1967 honda ct 90
1978 honda express 50cc