Author Topic: Ethanol (Grrr*@#) Questions  (Read 4829 times)

tooseevee

• Grand Gearhead
  • Everybody's havin' them dreams
on: October 14, 2016, 01:29:09 pm
         (1) If I buy gasoline by the 2 or three gallon container (which I have been doing for many years) to top up in my garage rather than go to gas stations, am I possibly getting more ethanol (by % of volume) than if I was putting 20 gallons in a car?

(B) Opinions on the best "Ethanol Fighters". I've used MMO for years, but is it really an ethanol fighter?

(3) Can I hate the Federal government and Progressives any more than I already do? I don't think so!!

RI USA '08 Black AVL Classic.9.8:1 ACEhead/manifold/canister. TM32/Open bottle/hot tube removed. Pertronix Coil. Fed mandates removed. Gr.TCI. Bobber seat. Battery in right side case. Decomp&all doodads removed. '30s Lucas taillight/7" visored headlight. Much blackout & wire/electrical upgrades.

Damon

• Bulleteer
Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 02:03:07 pm
I too fill up a 5 gallon gas can and use that to fill the tanks on my bikes rather then getting it straight from the Pump. it is getting harder and harder to find gas stations that have individual nozzles for each grade of gas and I may be being paranoid about the amount of 87 octane that sits in the hose and nozzle waiting for me, but I'd rather fill my wifes Mini Cooper with 92 and the small amount of 87 then fill the gas can with 92 after knowing that it is all 92 octane going into my bike.
2005 Royal Enfield Bullet 612 Continental
1965 Royal Enfield Interceptor Mk1
1956 BSA GoldStar DBD34GS Flat track racer
1971 Datsun 510 2-door sedan

ERC

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #2 on: October 14, 2016, 02:59:08 pm
I wouldn't worry about how much ethanol is in the fuel from a small container. The main problem is phase separation in the fuel from sitting. I deal with this shit everyday working on marine engines that are rarely used.  ERC