Author Topic: Adjusting the tappets  (Read 1393 times)

Blue Ridge Wheeltor

• Grand Gearhead
on: September 07, 2008, 01:38:21 am
While I admit I am no mechanic, I can follow directions as long as they are spelled out succinctly.
I recently obtained the parts manual, factory repair manual and Snidal's CD (so far I am a litle disappointed in Snidals). The problem I had recently with the oil change was a result of things not being labeled properly. For example, I learned on here not to mess with the quill bolt (which i would not have known had I stuck with the manuals). But I have yet to find in any of the manuals a diagram showing where the quill bolt is. The only way I avoided removing it was to avoid messing with the timing case altogether.
Then one manual says add 2 lts oil. Elsewhere I read to only add 1.75. The forum said 1.5. I followed the forum. had I followed the manual, I would be a half quart overfull.

My valves sounded loud. i pull out the mechanics stethoscope, and find the exhaust tappet is a lot louder than the intake. I've done the adjustments on the Ural, so this should be similar.
The manual says to remove the valve covers. Snidal doesnt mention it. The manual says to use a feeler gauge set to zero. If you are going to use a feeler gauge, if it is zero, it doesn't exist.
So I go to remove the valve covers. There are 3 nuts on each one. One is a castle nut, and there is not a wrench in the tool kit that fits it. I use one from the ural and start to thread it off, but it will not clear the tank, and I don't want to remove the tank.
I remove the tappet cover only. I try to find TDC. With the Ural, there is a mark on the flywheel. A little more figuring is involved with the RE.