Author Topic: 18t sprocket is installed, here is my after action review  (Read 1913 times)

sopwithdriver

• Skill Junkie
  • Bulleteer
  • always like to keep my audience riveted!
on: September 02, 2008, 01:13:53 am
Got up at 6am, made some coffee and decided to rip the guts out of the left side and put that sprocket in that has been staring at me from my work bench since the first of summer. Let me start with saying I am no mechanic but I am always up for learning a new task and this one seemed to have the makings of some quality shop time(which I love). I don't have alot of wrenching experience, just enough to really botch stuff up, but enthusiasm and doggedness goes a long way.

I cleared some space and set up a clean area for the parts that were sure to accumulate. First I pulled the stator and then the clutch plates. Simple 'nuf. Then I went to pull the rotor. Problem one, how do I stop the motor form turning while I get the damn nut off. Didn't want to jam up the rear end and the kids sitting on the back weren't heavy enough to stop the tire from slipping on the garage floor. So I improvised and used an oil filter wrench with a strip of innertube. Viola, field-expedient rotor holder thingy. Encountered same issue with the clutch basket nut and used same (insert part name here) improvised holder thingy and got the clutch basket off. No pullers needed for either the front sprocket or the rear sprocket/clutch center. Lucky me.

Next came removing the back chain case. The manual says its held on by three countersunk allen head bolts which apparently were installed by king-freakin-kong. Had to break out the air-ratchet to break them free. The manual doesn't say jack about the chain adjuster bolt or the odd little one at the south end of the case but we persevered and figured that out.