Author Topic: Another one bites the dust  (Read 8503 times)

Richard230

• Grand Gearhead
on: February 23, 2016, 09:52:25 pm
Today I stopped by my "local" Royal Enfield dealer, San Mateo Honda/Suzuki, to say "hello" and to ask when they would be moving, as they had a big sign on the windows for the past several months proclaiming that they were moving to a new location. (One of the employees told me a couple of weeks ago that they would be moving to the city of San Bruno, a few miles north, as their current lease would expire in May).  I might add that I have been buying motorcycles from them off and on since 1971, when I bought my wife a Honda CB100, and the dealership has been in operation continuously longer than that.

About 18 months ago the original owner was bought out and the new owner took on the Royal Enfield franchise and hired a sales manager who was said to be an expert at selling Royal Enfield motorcycles, which were always prominently displayed in front of the store. However, today the property was deserted, the shop was empty and there was a hand-lettered cardboard sign on the door saying "gone out of business".  It sure didn't take too long for the new owner to run the business into the ground.  :( 

Now what?  I think that was the last Royal Enfield franchise left in the San Francisco Bay Area.  I know RE wants to build up their U.S. market, but right now it is not looking so good around here, especially as the Bay Area has a large Indian community that have the money and interest in buying Royal Enfield motorcycles, to say nothing of the rest of us looking for something different in two-wheel ownership. What is RE up to and when will they get their U.S. act in gear?  ???
2018 16.6 kWh Zero S, 2009 BMW F650GS, 2020 KTM Duke 390, 2002 Yamaha FZ1

Farmer_John

• Grand Gearhead
Reply #1 on: February 23, 2016, 11:35:37 pm