Author Topic: Found an old Royal Enfield. Need advice.  (Read 18801 times)

Dave240

• Scooter
on: October 26, 2015, 03:42:43 pm
I found this old Royal Enfield that a farmer saved from going to scrap. He doesn't know anything about it or what it is missing. I'm a car guy, but I've never worked on a bike before and I'm totally clueless about this bike. I finished restoring my '67 Volvo this year and want something to work on over the winter.

So does anyone have any idea what year/model this bike is? Obviously it's missing quite a bit... Are replacement engines/parts available and if so, from where? I'm in Canada.

« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 07:34:07 pm by Dave240 »

malky

• Grand Gearhead
  • Team Rough Inferior.
Reply #1 on: October 26, 2015, 04:09:16 pm
Looks like you've got a Royal Enfield Prince. 150cc twostroke. As far as parts go the internet is your friend. The bike was Enfield's "BSA Bantam" but never really caught on. From your photo it looks like most of the tinware is there, which is good. Here's a photo of a complete one.
I was Molly Sugdens bridesmaid.

Spontaneity is the cure for best laid plans.
‘S Rioghal Mo Dhream

Arizoni

• Grand Gearhead
  • "But it's a dry heat here in Arizona
Reply #2 on: October 26, 2015, 06:20:36 pm
Dave240:
Malky is correct. 
It is a Royal Enfield Prince.

These were made from 1959 thru 1962 and were an upgrade from the 150 Ensign, Royal Enfield had been making since 1953.

The Ensign had used a strange double set of springs without dampening to provide the rear suspension.  The Prince replaced these with a redesigned frame and hydraulic spring shocks at the rear like most motorcycles used.
In addition, the fenders (mud guards) were revised and a tool box was added and the rear drive chain was fully enclosed in sheet metal covers.

Based on the photos in Royal Enfield- By Miles The Best . your find appears to be the 1959 model.