Author Topic: Silver paint "appears" on my exhaust  (Read 2720 times)

John S

• Scooter
on: September 30, 2015, 07:40:53 pm
I'm sure this has been addressed in another post before now but I cant locate within the Forum Search. - Silver paint on the welds has mysteriously appeared on the exhaust pipe of my fairly new C5 where chrome was before.  Has the chrome "burnt" away?  Thanks.

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #1 on: September 30, 2015, 08:07:08 pm
It was likely already there and you didn't notice it.  We all have it.  RE chromes the pieces of the exhaust and THEN welds them.  They use silver paint to cover the welded areas.  We lovingly call this "Madras chrome".  Most manufacturers weld the pieces together and then chrome the whole assembly.   RE doesn't.

Scott

john hut

• John Hut
  • Scooter
  • EFI Bulleteer
Reply #2 on: September 30, 2015, 08:49:26 pm
Being a welder myself I cant understand the logic in it as its much easier and stronger to weld clean metal than chromed , and better looking chromed afterwards, but then again it is Royal Enfield..
John Electra Deluxe Efi

Ducati Scotty

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2010 Teal C5
Reply #3 on: September 30, 2015, 09:13:29 pm
Being a welder myself I cant understand the logic in it as its much easier and stronger to weld clean metal than chromed , and better looking chromed afterwards, but then again it is Royal Enfield..

You understand it perfectly :)

tooseevee

• Grand Gearhead
  • Everybody's havin' them dreams
Reply #4 on: September 30, 2015, 10:08:04 pm

It's a teeter-totter with piles of money stacked on both ends.
RI USA '08 Black AVL Classic.9.8:1 ACEhead/manifold/canister. TM32/Open bottle/hot tube removed. Pertronix Coil. Fed mandates removed. Gr.TCI. Bobber seat. Battery in right side case. Decomp&all doodads removed. '30s Lucas taillight/7" visored headlight. Much blackout & wire/electrical upgrades.

Narada

• Grand Gearhead
  • Riding the Madrass Missile!