Author Topic: Newbie questions about the Bullet 500 B5  (Read 8743 times)

Burddog

• Scooter
on: July 17, 2015, 10:17:14 pm
Hey all.  I'm a total noob here.  Been riding motorcycles all my life. My current ride is a 98 BMW R1200C.  My wife of 8 yrs has been expressing interest in learning to ride, and I always said to her that once she gets past the talking about it stage that she needs to take the motorcycle safety course.  To my surprise, she has finally done this and registered.

She's always liked the retro look and the Royal Enfields really appeal to her in that regard.  The 500 cc size / weight really appeals to me because I think it's a mistake many beginning riders make to jump into large displacement machines.

That said, I see a dealer near me that is quite willing to let a brand new 2013 B5 model with 19 miles go for about $3750 + tax.   I have no knowledge of these machines, but my research indicates that's a good deal. 

I live in a remote area, and am a little concerned about dealer support and parts availability.

Can some of you comment on the willingness of other motorcycle shops to work on these?  They seem like pretty straightforward machines, but I do not wish to buy a bike that has a lot of service needs and have no one to support that. 

I think the size/weight/ styling of the Bullet B5 are all very appealing to my wife, but I'm no technician and don't care to spend my time wrenching.  I much prefer to spend my limited free time riding.

Would this be a bad choice for us?  Or, would most competent full service shops be willing to do typical repairs on these?  I can't see much reason why they wouldn't. Are there other things we should be considering about this bike for a new rider?

Bulletman

• Grand Gearhead
  • 2011 - C5 Classic Black
Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 10:46:11 pm